Destruction from Typhoon Yolanda/Haiyan

Typhoon Yolanda (C) Webpronews

Words cannot express how I feel right now. I’m crying as I write this. A typhoon just hit Central Visayas here in the Philippines. The devastation it caused, 95% of Tacloban was destroyed. At least 10,000 lives were lost, possibly more as media finds hundreds of bodies littering the streets. More are possibly buried in the rubble. More still may have been washed away at sea.

It’s also disheartening to see politicians bickering among themselves. Even the President of the Philippines have shown his ever callous side. I am praying that just this once Lord, they get their act right. Let them feel compassion for the victims.

I am thankful for the international community for helping. I have read pledges from countries that I didn’t think would possibly help. China, UAE, UK and more. I am praying again, the people who receive those aid use it to rebuild, to help. I fear that if corruption takes place, the international community might not help anymore.

I am still reeling from the shock. I keep thinking of my relatives that is in Leyte.

But I will be strong. In my own way I will help.

God Bless the Philippines!

~C.A.T.

Leave a Reply

