Currently Addicted To: RCBC MyWallet Visa Card

RCBC MyWallet Visa and Mercury Drug Suki Card

Image from rcbc.com

I already posted a review about PSBank Prepaid Mastercard which worked fine for restaurants, malls Google Play and Facebook purchases. Unfortunately, the card can’t be used for several websites like Amazon, Ebay and Paypal. I was willing to weather it out with the card but the last straw that broke the camel’s back was their loans officer. I was really waiting patiently and I haven’t heard from them for like a month now. So I withdrew all my savings and transferred them back to BPI. I left a bit of cash for Candy Crush Saga powerups though. So much for that. Sorry PSBank.

Then I stumbled into an RCBC bank. I already inquired about the MyWallet card that they had and I knew it could be used with PayPal last year. However the card transactions couldn’t be viewed online back then so I didn’t push through to opening one. This time the bank manager told me that I can now view online transactions via RCBC AccessOne through www.rcbc.com.

Here’s my review of the process of obtaining said card.

Signing up for an RCBC MyWallet Visa (and Mercury Drug Store suki Card)

The only requirements they asked was a valid ID such as BIR, PRC, driver’s licence etc. Then I prepared 500 pesos (minimum 100 pesos) for the initial deposit.

The forms were brief, only two pages. A 1/2 sheet for the suki card registration and 1 form for your information. Unfortunately, what made the process tedious was the submission and validation. I had to go from the new accounts officer to the bank manager for validation, back to the new accounts officer to finish what ever, to the teller to deposit, then to another bank officer to get my pin code.

Since I have a bit of messiah complex, I was willing to suffer through the process and I got my card within the hour.

The Card

I was surprised with the card. It didn’t have my name on it and I was worried that some establishments may require your name to be shown on the card before they can charge it. Oh well, if  it doesn’t work with malls and restaurants it’s no big loss. The minimum deposit isn’t that big and annual fee is 110 pesos only.

I also went to Mercury Drug and had my Suki card activated. Unfortunately, the card can’t be used for 24 hours despite what the new accounts officer told me.

Online Banking

I looked through blogs and forums and confirmed that the card may be used with paypal and hopefully Amazon. I also checked http://www.RCBC.com to register my card and also through Paypal. I got denied on both sites. Apparently, I needed to wait for 24 hours or so before my card can be “fully activated”.

Everything looks promising though so I can wait for tomorrow.

If everything works fine, this may be the one card that can replace my Unionbank EON card. It sucks that my province doesn’t have a single Unionbank establishment anywhere.

~C.A.T.

35 Comments »

  1. Adam Said:

    Hi CAT, is your your RCBC MyWallet already activated? How long did it take? I am planning to get one tomorrow and wondering if their service is the same with Unionbank EON. Unionbank did not allow me to claim my EON card (after 2 visits, cause they said my IDs were not good enough) because of my outstanding credit card balance. Do you think RCBC has the same policy?

    Thanks!

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Hi! Yes, I got my rcbc wallt immediately and activated it and I think they won’t care if you git outstandingly cred card balance. I don’t have a credit card so I got my eon easily.

      • Adam Said:

        Well that’s nice to know. I hope I wont have any trouble linking it with my paypal cause i’ll use it for verification and cash withdrawals. By the way, your site looks very “astig”! keep it up!

      • C.A.T.Guy Said:

        Thanks!

  2. eure Said:

    how many days it takes to withdraw my funds in paypal to my card?

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      So far it takes about 3 to 4 days like Unionbank

  3. bryan Said:

    u can verify your mercury drug rcbc to paypal

  4. Fei Said:

    I also have this and I’m having problem receiving money from abroad. I’m not sure what the problem is but it’s been more than a month since I was expecting it to get to my account 3-6 days of waiting aside. I’m told that the account number in the front is the account number, isn’t it?

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Did you use paypal? So far I managed to withdraw my funds using rcbc mywallet.

      • Fei Said:

        It was deposited in the bank account not through paypal. I felt the processing fee of tranfering through paypal a bit pricey than getting it through the bank.
        Have you tried depositing money on yours?

      • C.A.T.Guy Said:

        Yep the processing fee $5 is a bit much but paypal is good for those who have online jobs. Still, the best bank for paypal is Unionbank with their EON card. The deduction is only 50 pesos.

      • fei Said:

        I think it’s more than that… I read that it charges %4.4 + $0.38(around 12PHP) that’s why I opted for bank deposit. How much is the monthly charge for eon?

      • C.A.T.Guy Said:

        EON only has an annual fee of 300. And if it’s a transfer via paypal to EON the charge is 50 pesos for deposits below a certain amount. I think higher amounts like 10k or so has no charge or fee.

  5. Fei Said:

    Thanks for the info. Interesting… So which of the two do you think is better? Some friends actually told me to get eon though they didn’t know about RCBC MyWallet.

    (BTW about the transfer, I just received it today after weeks of waiting 🙂 FINALLY! )

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      I’d suggest unionbank. I just got forced into rcbc and psbank because there is no unionbank here.

      • Fei Said:

        Thanks! Will try out eon.

  6. Charles Said:

    Hello. How do you reload you RCBC suki card? I heard you can only apply for it in RCBC commercial banks and not savings bank (they say its 2 different banks). But with reloading, can i deposit it on savings bank branches as well, not just commercial bank branches? Thanks

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Hi, I think you can apply for a card at any mercury drugstore. I was able to load my card at a western union outlet, may fee nga lang pero 500 pesos but great for emergency purchases online. I’m not sure about the savings bank. I’ll try to ask about it.

      I prefer the rcbc mercury card because it gives you points if you buy in mercury drug stores.

  7. […] RCBC MyWallet Visa card -review here and follow up review here […]

  8. audrey Said:

    I have A Problem its almost 7 days but i haven’t receive on my bank account

  9. audrey Said:

    Im using Mywallet rcbc my 1st transfer takes 7 days I have withdraw my money but this 2nd transfer I haven’t receive it on my bank account. I transfer it from paypal. Is this happens?

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Hi, sorry to hear you are having problems with RCBC. I haven’t had problems using it so far.

      They have a customer support on their website or you can try visiting any branch to check. Most likely it’s on the side of Paypal as the volume of transactions may take time.

  10. […] as an ATM unlike other prepaid credit cards such as EON Unionbank, PSBank prepaid Mastercard and RCBC MyWallet. This means that once you load the card, you won’t be able to get your cash back unless if […]

  11. nat Said:

    i hope you can help. i forgot my pin (myrcbc wallet suki card). can i reset my pin at any rcbc branches? the branch of account where i applied this from is very far from where i am and it’s inconvenience to go all the way there just to reset my pin.

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      AHi,

      As far as I can remember per bank protocol, resetting of pin must be done at the bank you got the ATM card. However you can try and talk to the nearest branch near you. Just bring proper and credible identification such driver’s license, PRC license or anything government issued.

  12. […] RCBC MyWallet Visa Card  […]

  13. I already link my RCBC Mercury card MyWallet to paYpal, and my paypal remaining balance is only 100.00 ho w to transfer my money from RCBC Mercury card to paypal so i can purchase the item i want to buy online..

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Hi once the rcbc card is linked all you need to do is ensure there is enough money in the card.

      The card should be selected as the main card and it should be verified.

      Purchase anything online using paypal and payment will be automatically deducted from your card.

  14. Justine Said:

    Hi just wanna ask pnu iactivate ang mercury drug mywallet card ? S skul kO kc sya nkuha dinalaw kmi ng mga tage rcbc and i kinda forgot how tO activate it ! Please help tnks

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Hi, I can’t remember it clearly but I think you can go to the nearest mercury drug store to have it activated.

  15. treshiabedes Said:

    Hello. Pwede pong gamitin ang RCBC MyWallet pang verify ng paypal account? Sure? As in? Lol. Thanks!

    • C.A.T.Guy Said:

      Hi, I haven’t tried it with RCBC MyWallet yet because I’m using BPI eMastecard

    • Norieloner Said:

      yes pwding pwde.

      • C.A.T.Guy Said:

        Aw hehe thanks for the answer.

  16. […] a sidenote, I also got a call from RCBC about their credit card! Wow, I already have an electronic/prepaid RCBC credit card that I’m using. I might get my FOURTH credit card. So scary […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

