Currently Addicted To: Katekyo Hitman Reborn

One of my favorite mangas is Katekyo Hitman Reborn. You can really see how imaginative the Japanese Mangakas are. What seemed to be a story about a insanely strong baby teaching a mediocre student to become a Mafia boss became a jangled story of rings with super powers, time travel and all sorts of weirdness.

I call such change in story line as the “Dragonball effect”. It seems that the hero and his friends are forever fighting against enemies that seem to have a “better” technique than they do. So the heroes develop new techniques to beat enemies, another strong enemy appears and has an even better technique. The cycle continues until finally…

katekyo hitman reborn

The end draws near and 2 more volumes and Katekyo Hitman Reborn will end… I always feel a bit sad once one of my favorite mangas end. At least Katekyo Hitman Reborn managed to reach 400+ chapters or 42 volumes. One of my favorite mangas, Double Arts didn’t even managed to reach the “Dragonball effect”. It ended after 3 volumes. Oh well.

I still have other mangas to read and sometimes I view other mangas. I just wish Japan released a lot more English translated mangas.

It’s amazing to see how many mangas like Katekyo Hitman Reborn do a “Dragonball Effect”.  It doesn’t turn me off. In fact, I do enjoy the almost never ending twists and turns Mangakas do to make their stories interesting.

Leave a Reply

